
CAVE RULES BY SEQUENCE OF PLAY 
A lot of people shy away from caves in ASL. That is somewhat understandable; there are about seven 
pages of text, and a limited number of official scenarios (13) that use caves. I believe they are worthwhile 
to learn, however, to have the full range of "World War II movies through ASL" experience. It is worth 
mentioning that two mini HASL modules use caves: Kakazu Ridge and Gavutu-Tanambogo. Read any 
book about Iwo Jima or Okinawa and you will see how common caves were to the Japanese defence.

It is important to realize that the cave rules are very different from the pillbox rules; the similarity in the 
counters can be misleading. On the cave counter, however, the third number is not the NCA TEM. Caves 
do not have a NCA. Here is a second item to emphasize: Infantry that enter a cave (even from above-
ground) or Cave Complex cannot enter another cave, Cave Complex or tunnel during that same phase.

I have found it useful to itemize a topic’s rules by the Sequence of Play order, first done by Tim 
Hundsdorfer in the article "The Weather Outside Is Frightful" (ASL Annual ’96). Here are the cave rules 
organized in the same manner. My goal is to have an quicker-to-read reminder of how the caves affect the 
game, with a rules reference for more details when required. I give a big "thank you" to J.R. Van Mechelan 
for his valuable input to this play-aid.


SETUP 
BOTH TYPES OF CAVE 
• The hexside a Cave counter's arrow points to is called its CA Hexside. Only one Cave counter can point 

to a each hexside of a hex. (G11.1)

• No Cave counter may be set up in a building, rubble, marsh, swamp or Water Obstacle hex or IN a non-

dry stream. (G11.1)

• Only Japanese Infantry-(including Dummies) / SW / a-non-vehicular-Gun may be set up in a cave. 

(G11.1)

• Up to 25% (FRD) of the cave counters in the Japanese OB may be designated as Primary Caves for 

Cave Complexes. (G11.2)

• Cave counters and their contents always set up Hidden. Cave Complexes and their contents always set 

up Hidden. (G11.3)

• A Cave has a stacking limit of one squad-equivalent, or one Gun with crew. Overstacking may occur 

during play. (G11.4)

• A Cave Complex has a stacking limit equal to twice the number of Cave counters within its boundaries.  

Overstacking may occur during play. (G11.4)

• A radio/field phone may be set up and used in a cave. (G11.837)

• It takes three OB-given cave counters to set up one Upper-Cliff Cave. (G11.91)

• Any type, any Caliber, and any Target Size of Gun may set up in a Cave, but not all may fire from it. 

(G11.83, G11.92). The only mortar that can fire from a cave is the 50mm Type 89 Heavy Grenade 
Launcher.


• Above-ground contents of the hex are placed (and considered to be) above all Cave counters in that 
hex.


• No Fortification may exist in a cave/Cave-Complex; however, a tunnel may connect to a Cave Complex. 
All Fortifications in a Cave counter's hex retain their normal capabilities and effects, but only outside that 
cave and at their normal setup level. (G11.93)


DEPRESSION CAVE 
• The Cave can be IN a gully, sunken road, hill depression or dry stream but not a non-dry stream. (G11.1)

• Its own hex is its Entrance Hex. (G11.1)

• The Cave must have its arrow pointing directly away from a non-Depression hexside (of its hex) whose 

other common hex to that hexside has a Base Level (or Crest level—whichever is higher) > that cave's 
level, and  that arrow must also point across a Depression (including a Crest-Line-Depression; B19.5) 
hexside to an adjacent Depression hex. (G11.1)
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• The Cave is at level of Depression. (G11.111)

NON-DEPRESSION CAVE 
• Set up in a hex that shares a hill/cliff Crest Line hexside with another hex whose Base Level 

is lower than the Base Level of the Cave counter's hex. (G11.1)

• Cave must have its arrow pointing across a hill/cliff Crest Line hexside (of its hex) to the center dot of an 

adjacent lower-Base-Level hex that contains no Irrigated-paddy / sand / marsh / swamp / water-(even a 
hexside pond) whose level is ≥ that cave's level. (G11.1)


• The other hex common to its CA Hexside is its Entrance Hex. (G11.1)

• If its CA Hexside is a non-cliff hexside or a one-level cliff, the cave's level equals the Base Level (or 

Crest level—whichever is higher) of its Entrance Hex. (G11.112)

• If its CA Hexside is a cliff hexside ≥  two levels high, the cave's level can be chosen by the Cave 

counter's owner. If the chosen level is greater than the Base Level, then this cave is an Upper-Cliff cave. 
(G11.113)


RALLY PHASE

• Caves are Rally-Bonus Terrain. (G11.1)

• Cave Complexes are Rally-Bonus Terrain. (G11.2)

• Infantry in a Cave Complex may not remain DM. (G11.77)

• Hidden actions are possible within Caves/Cave Complexes. (G11.75)


PREP FIRE PHASE, DEFENSIVE FIRE PHASE, ADVANCING FIRE 
PHASE

• The CA of a Cave counter, and hence the LOS of units in the cave, excludes all (even Aerial) Locations in 

that Cave counter's hex, other than that of the cave itself [EXC: the CA of a Cave counter IN a 
Depression includes the area IN its hex]. A hex half in and half out of a cave's CA is considered to be 
completely within that CA for the purposes of C.5B only, even though part of that hex actually is outside 
that CA. (G11.12)


• No LOS exists between different caves in the same hex. (G11.5)

• No LOS exists between a cave and the above-ground Base-Level Location of its non-Depression hex. 

(G11.5)

• No LOS exists between an Upper-cliff cave and a Climbing unit at a vertex of that cave’s CA Hexside 

and at a different level than that cave. (G11.5)

• LOS to/from a cave can exist only if traced entirely within that cave's CA [EXC: a cave IN a Depression 

hex has LOS to its own hex (i.e., its Entrance Hex) as well]. (G11.5)

• If the LOS from a unit in a cave whose CA Hexside is also a hill (only) Crest Line hexside lies along a 

Continuous Slope when disregarding the Cave counter's hex, then a Continuous Slope is considered to 
exist from that cave along that LOS. Barring other LOS obstructions, LOS may be traced within the CA 
of a cave in a non-Depression hex to/from an elevation lower than the cave's if its Entrance Hex 
contains no terrain (including a Crest Line) whose obstacle height along that LOS is > that cave's level. 
(G11.5)


• No LOS ever exists to/from a Cave Complex. (G11.5)

• The contents of a cave/Cave-Complex may not be inspected by the opponent. (G11.52)

• A unit is ADJACENT to a cave only if Japanese Infantry in/IN that unit's Location would have a LOS to 

that cave and could advance directly into it. (G11.6)

• Cave TEM is +6 versus OBA or Area Target Type; +4 otherwise (G11.8) [EXC: a DC placed or thrown into 

a cave receives no drm, or -4 drm if no unconcealed Good Order Japanese unit is in the cave (G11.833)].

• Any unit/weapon that fires out of an Overstacked cave is subject to Area Fire penalties in addition to 

normal overstacking penalties. (G11.8)
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• Neither a hidden cave nor its contents may be predesignated as a target. Non-hidden, non-prisoner 
Infantry in caves are eligible sniper targets. (G11.8)


• A unit must pre-designate a cave as its target to be able to affect it. (G11.8)

• Spraying Fire can affect two (only) pre-designated cave Locations that are within one level of each other 

and share a common CA Hexside vertex. However, a Spraying Fire attack cannot include > one cave 
Location if it includes a non-cave Location, nor can one that includes two non-cave Locations include 
any cave Location. (G11.811)


• Hidden/concealed status in a cave neither halves the FP of, nor adds a TH DRM to, attacks vs its 
occupants. (G11.812)


• A radio may be used in a cave only if it has remained therein since the scenario's initial setup.  A field 
phone may be used in a cave. (G11.837)


• A Cave can be eliminated by a DC attack, or by a HE CH of ≥ of GE 100mm. (G11.833, G11.88).

• Neither a hidden cave nor its contents may be hit/affected by any attack other than Bombardment. 

(G11.8)

• Neither mortar nor AA fire is allowed from a cave, except for a Japanese light mortar. If the cave’s 

Entrance Hex is a dense-jungle/bamboo hex whose total obstacle height exceeds that cave's level, then 
that light mortar cannot use Spotted Fire. (G11.83)


• Each Gun in a cave is considered to have a normal (i.e., neither Small nor Large) Target Size for TH 
purposes. (G11.83)


• Infantry in a cave may Spot for mortars (that are not in a cave) in the normal manner. (G11.83)

• A non-hidden cave and its contents are immune to Area Target Type attacks whose LOS/LOF enters its 

hex outside of its CA Hexside. (G11.831)

• When using the Infantry Target Type, Target Acquisition and ROF may be gained/retained vs a Known (to 

the firer) cave even if that cave contains no Known enemy unit (/even if firing SMOKE as per G11.85).
(G11.832).


• A DC may be Thrown into a cave only by an adjacent Thrower who is not more than one level lower 
than, and who has a LOS to, that cave—and only if the Thrower's owner makes a subsequent Final dr of 
≤ 3. (G11.833)


• A non-hidden cave and its contents are immune to OBA unless the attack vs its hex crosses that cave's 
CA hexside. (G11.84)


• A FT attack vs a cave can affect only the occupant(s) of that cave Location [EXC: if the cave is in a non-
Depression hex, the FT also attacks the occupants of all (even hidden) caves Accessible to that cave, 
using the same FP quartered and the same Original IFT DR]. (G11.834)


• A SCW [EXC: PIAT] fired from a cave causes a Desperation penalty unless it is using Opportunity Fire or 
the Case C3 TH DRM. (G11.835)


• HEAT may be fired at Infantry/a-Gun in a cave. (G11.835)

• Canister FP is halved vs a cave. (G11.836)

• SMOKE may be placed in/IN a Cave counter's hex in the normal manner. (G11.85)

• The "outgoing LOS" DRM of SMOKE in a cave equals twice that SMOKE's current maximum applicable 

DRM (instead of an additional + 1). (G11.85)

• Direct-Fire ordnance may attempt to place SMOKE into a cave itself using the Infantry Target Type or a 

SW’s own TH table and pre-designating the cave as the target. The +2 Basic TH# modification for firing 
SMOKE at ≤ 12 hexes (C4.4) is NA. The cave's +4 TEM (TH Case Q) applies. WP successfully placed (by 
any means) in a cave is automatically a CH therein, and uses the reversed TEM applicable to that type of 
attack. (G11.85)


• When a ⅝" WP counter in a cave is flipped to its Dispersed side all other hidden caves Accessible to 
that cave, plus all other hidden caves set up within the boundaries of the same Cave Complex (if any) 
which that cave is set up within, plus the above-ground entrances/exits of all tunnels that connect to 
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that Complex, are immediately revealed (regardless of LOS), provided they are also at a higher level than 
that cave. (G11.851)


• A non-hidden cave is considered a building for Sighting TC purposes. Occupants of that cave's 
Entrance Hex which are in the plane's LOS are assumed to have been Sighted if the cave is sighted. 
(G11.86)


• Caves are not Burnable Terrain. (G11.95)

• Infantry in a cave become Battle Hardened (not Berserk) on a Final Heat of Battle DR of ≥ 9. (G11.97)


MOVEMENT PHASE

• Infantry may enter may enter a cave or Cave Complex from an Accessible cave/Cave-Complex only if it 

has ≥ two MF available (all have four MF for this calculation); Minimum move is NA. (G11.74)

• Infantry that enter a cave (even from above-ground) or Cave Complex cannot enter another cave, Cave 

Complex or tunnel during that same phase. (G11.74)

• No cave occupant is considered a Known enemy unit for berserk-unit creation/charge purposes. 

(G11.97)

• A successful Search reveals all cave counters in a hex and their contents. (G11.33)

• A cave does not invoke the +2 Search drm given in G1.63; i.e., it is not considered Concealment Terrain 

vs a Search. (G11.33)

• An unbroken unit/stack may not enter an already-Overstacked Complex. (G11.4)

• A cave is Accessible to all other caves that lie in/IN the same hex with it and within one level of it. 

(G11.6)

• A cave is Accessible to its associated Cave Complex and vice-versa. (G11.6)

• A Cave Complex is Accessible to another Cave Complex if they share a hexside. (G11.6)

• A Cave Complex is Accessible to any location to which it is connected by a tunnel. (G11.6)

• Entry of an Upper-Cliff cave from above-ground requires Climbing. (G11.7)

• Japanese Infantry (and their SW / Guarded-prisoner[s] / Dummies) enter a cave at a cost of two MF. No 

other nationality can enter a cave. (G11.7)

• Infantry that enter a non-hidden cave expend no MF to do so if they remain hidden when they enter it. 

Infantry that enter a hidden cave expend no MF to do so. (G11.751)

• A Japanese gun [EXC: Large Target Size] may be Manhandled from a Cave Complex to a Cave (or vice-

versa) at a cost of two MF (G11.7). No Manhandling DR is required. (G11.76)

• Entry of a cave from an Accessible cave in the same non-Depression hex costs one additional MF per 

level change. (G11.71)

• Infantry in a cave IN a Depression who wish to enter another cave IN that same hex must first exit to 

above-ground IN that hex and then make a separate MF expenditure to enter the other cave. (G11.71)

• Exiting from a cave IN a Depression to above-ground IN that Depression costs one MF. (G11.72)

• Hidden actions are possible within Caves/Cave Complexes, but not when an enemy unit as LOS to the 

Cave Location. (G11.75)

• A (not large) Gun may be Pushed during the MPh by a MMC (or its SMC equivalent) from a cave to an 

Accessible Cave Complex (or vice-versa). (G11.76)

• A DC may be Placed into a cave only by a non-Climbing Infantry unit that expends the cave entry cost, 

plus any required SMOKE MF cost, to Place it while ADJACENT to the cave. An Infantry unit at a higher 
elevation than a cave but not in its CA may attempt to Place a DC into it by declaring such and moving 
onto a Climb counter whose arrow touches a vertex of that cave's CA Hexside (or, for a cave IN a 
Depression, touches a vertex of the hexside the Cave counter's arrow points directly away from). A DC 
may be Thrown into a cave only by an adjacent Thrower who is not more than one level lower than, and 
who has a LOS to, that cave—and only if the Thrower's owner makes a subsequent Final dr of ≤ 3. A 
unit can spend its entire MPh to Set a DC while ADJACENT to a cave. (G11.833, G11.8331, G11.8332)
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• The MF entry cost of caves/Cave-Complexes is not increased at night. (G11.96)

• Residual FP may be placed in a cave only if that cave was the attacker's predesignated target.  Existing 

Residual FP in a cave attacks certain units as a Snap Shot. (G11.82)

• A Fire Lane can originate in a cave but cannot enter one. (G11.821)

• SMOKE-grenades: a unit in a cave may attempt to place SMOKE in that cave. A unit that is above-

ground and in a position from which a DC could be Thrown into that cave may attempt to place a 
SMOKE grenade into that cave; it succeeds upon making a Final Thrown-DC dr of ≤ 3 as per 11.833. 
Each ½" SMOKE counter placed in a cave remains onboard (beneath that Cave counter) and in effect 
until the end of the Player Turn in which it was placed. WP successfully placed (by any means) in a cave 
is automatically a CH therein, and uses the reversed TEM applicable to that type of attack. (G11.85)


• Infantry exiting a cave directly into/INTO a wire Location are placed above that Wire counter. (G11.931)


ROUT PHASE 
• Infantry may not Rout from a Cave Complex. (G11.73)

• A broken unit in a cave or Cave Complex is not required to rout to the nearest woods/building (G11.77).

• A broken Japanese unit may rout to a cave if that cave is at least as close (in MF) as the nearest woods/

building. (G11.77)

• A broken unit may become HIP when entering a Cave/Cave Complex. (G11.75)


ADVANCE PHASE 
• A cave is Accessible to all other caves that lie in/IN the same hex with it and within one level of it. 

(G11.6)

• A cave is Accessible to its associated Cave Complex and vice-versa. (G11.6)

• Infantry may not advance from one Cave Complex to another Cave Complex. (G11.73)

• Infantry may enter a cave or Cave Complex from an Accessible cave/Cave-Complex only if it has ≥ two 

MF available (all have four MF for this calculation); Advance vs Difficult Terrain is NA. (G11.74)

• Infantry in a cave IN a Depression who wish to enter another cave IN that same hex must first exit to 

above-ground IN that hex and they can enter both locations in one APh. (G11.71)

• Hidden advance is possible with Caves/Cave Complexes, but not into a Cave Location when an enemy 

unit as LOS to the Cave Location. (G11.75)


CLOSE COMBAT PHASE 
• No type of CC attack is allowed between a unit in a cave and one outside of it. (G11.87)

• Caves are Concealment Terrain. (G11.1)

• Cave Complexes are Concealment Terrain. (G11.2)

• Remove any ½" SMOKE counter in a cave. (G11.85)

• Removal  of  a ½" WP counter reveals all other hidden caves Accessible to that cave, plus all other 

hidden caves set up within the boundaries of the same Cave Complex (if any) which that cave is set up 
within, plus the above-ground entrances/exits of all tunnels that connect to that Complex (regardless of 
LOS), provided they are also at a higher level than that cave. (G11.851)


• An Allied prisoner in a Cave Complex cannot attack its guard. (G11.98)
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CHANGE LOG

DATE DESCRIPTION

2023/07/03 Removed "No AA gun may fire from a cave." because they can. They cannot use AA fire.

2023/07/03 Re-arranged one item into two in the Movement Phase, and moved them to be the first two 
items.

2023/07/03 In cave TEM item, added "unconcealed Good Order" before Japanese to the -4 drm clause.

2023/07/03 Change "rate" to "ROF".
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